Mentoring Success

I am a mentor, and it comes to me naturally. I want to post about a success in the making. I work with a non-profit organization that offers free tutoring services. There was an individual that was getting into fights frequently, defiant, low reading scores, horrible grades, just to name a few. We sat for tutoring on four occasions. I provided a safe environment for the student to read aloud. I connected with his ongoing battle with identity in his neighborhood, lastly I commended his level of athletic skills coupled with the need to perfect reading while perfecting his craft as an athlete.

Today I can report that his fighting, while yet to cease, has diminished, and his grades have increased substantially. The power of mentoring transcends age. What individuals need is accountability from honest individuals that possess the genuine desire to see those individuals progress.

Leave a Reply

