South Side Chronicles-Service

It is necessary that we take pauses often enough to pay homage to those that helped us remain at our current positions, even if we are unhappy.
For every moment that we can open our eyes and inhale,
we awake with the potential for the miraculous to happen.
My purpose in this issue of South Rome Chronicles is to pay homage to a man that helped awaken the service that is in me. We lived about four houses down from Shawn and he played the role of another big brother. He cut my hair, was my bodyguard, basically kept me in line, let me know that he was always supporting me despite the odd paths that I would often take. One day we were walking from the bus stop and I heard a faint voice coming from a creepy looking house. The voice was a raspy whisper like something out of a horror flick. So I was naturally in flight mode. Just as I took was about to run Shawn said,”Man that’s the old man wanting us to go to the store for him.” “Stop being so scary!” We went to the old man’s stairs and into this small hovel of a home, and their lied this 70 plus year old man that could barely do for himself. He simply wanted us to go to the store, get him a couple of cans of Beenie Weenies and a can of drink. He even offered to give us the change. Shawn held on to the money, made the purchase at C-Mo’s store about two blocks away, and not only returned the items but the change as well.
Today Shawn and his team have feed thousands of people in the Metro Atlanta Area a year, with no intentions of taking glory for himself. He used to my hair for free, feed me, share clothes with me, and he shared his gift of service with me. I love this guy like we are blood brothers. Peace Flizoyd!

One thought on “South Side Chronicles-Service

Leave a Reply

