South Side Chronicles-Brother

Got a tip from my brother that moving from urbanization would not be an easy transition. He assured me that too much talking would result in multiple fat lips. So I humbly eased into South Rome. I watched Cubbert roast a guy at the park one Saturday morning. Then when the dude said something about his grandmother, he smashed the dude’s head into the metal stares where we sat. So my big brother saved me from some major fat lips. He taught me how to study to be quiet. Lesson learned Bro!
Fashion was a must regardless of how much money you had. More than studies we would either hand wash outfits for the next day, or clean shoes. Big bro taught me how to keep it nice and fresh. I may not have been the suavest, but clean was a must. Check my record through time and you will not find one story of bad body odor from the Jackson boys. Cleanliness is next to godliness. Lesson learned Bro!
Stay away from the dope gain is what I gathered from my bro. It was going on all around us, and we to this day reserve no judgement for our homies. The bro and I had a fear of going to prison. With all of the dope around me, I never went to prison. Crack is wack! Say not to Drugs! Lesson learned Bro!
Sunday school was pretty cool, but it was the store time in between Sunday School and church that I enjoyed. We would go to Ms. Margaret’s store, using the money that we kept back from the Lord! I was only doing what I learned from my elders! My brother was one of my elders responsible for teaching me how to hold a little money back so that you could get your snack on. Know when to hold em and know when to fold em! Lesson learned Bro!
I never realized how much I was modeling my life after my brother, but the pattern is the reason that I beat the statistics. Peace and blessings Big Bro!

Leave a Reply

